Home

SCHOOL INDEX

 

Certified 30th January 1863 for 60 boys at Penn Street.  Re-certified 13th June 1902 for 80 boys on removal to Witton.  The school closed 14th June, 1905. 

Founded as a Ragged School and formed in 2 or 3 cottages.

1866 - Mr Nightingale

1867 - Master and Matron, Mr & Mrs May; schoolmaster Mr Nightingale.

1868 - Superintendent Mr May and his wife; Mr Nightingale; Miss Nightingale.

1869 - Mr & Mrs Shaw; schoolmaster Mr Nightingale.  "Mr & Mrs May left their situations as superintendent and matron of this school at Michaelmas, having been chosen by the Committee of the Gem Street school to take the management of that institution".

1872 - Superintendent and matron Mr & Mrs Millar; schoolmaster Mr Nightingale.

1884 - Superintendent and matron Mr & Mrs Francis; schoolmaster Mr Ruthers.

1891 - Superintendent and matron Mr & Mrs Henry Francis; schoolmaster Mr Ruthers.

1893 - Superintendent and matron Mr & Mrs Henry Francis; schoolmaster Mr Ruthers.

1900 - Superintendent and matron Mr & Mrs E.A. Francis; schoolmaster Mr A. Miller; assistant teacher Mr Harris was appointed and commenced his duties on 7th May.

1903 - Superintendent and matron Mr G.A. Francis; schoolmaster Mr A. Miller; assistant schoolmaster Mr A. Hughes; carpenter Mr Barnes